About the Ronan Police Department


On February 29, 1912 the town was incorporated and E. H. Rathbone was elected to serve as the first Mayor of Ronan.  In June of that year, the Mayor entitled William Engle as Ronan’s first Town Marshal.  Ronan had a Town Marshal up until February 3rd, 1941 when the Town of Ronan became a Third class City based on the US Census population of One-Thousand Thirty Two inhabitants.  Henry G. Redlaczyk became our first City Marshal.  On May 1st, 1967 Mayor Norman Stedje appointed Leonard Morigeau as the city’s first Chief of Police.

 William Engle  1912-1913  Town Marshal  W. A. Adler  1942-1943  City  L. Morigeau  1971-1973  Chief
 F. C. Mayer  1913-1915  Marshal  W. H. Sands  1943-1946  City  Donald J. Bowers  1973-1974  Chief
 S. Pierre  1916-1917  Marshal  R. M. Taylor  1946-1947  City  Steven Reum  1974  Chief
 L. L. Hoelzer  1917  Marshal  L. Nadreau  1947-1951  City  C. A. “Pinky” Bourne  1974-1980  Chief
 J. Nadreau  1917-1923  Marshal  R. White  1951-1953  City  Allen B. Corneliusen  1980-1992  Chief
 J. Odiet  1923-1933  Marshal  Chas. A. Noel  1953-1962  City  Dennis Gardner  1992-2001  Chief
 H. G. Redlaczyk  1933-1939  Marshal  G. D. Lundvall  1962-1966  City  Daniel Wadsworth  2001-2014  Chief
 W. A. Phillips  1939-1940  Marshal  W. A. Phillips  1966-1967  City  Valent Maxwell  2014  Chief
 H. G. Redlaczyk  1940-1942  City Marshal  L. Morigeau  1967-1969  Chief of Police  John Mitchell  2014  Chief
 R. Z. Leighton  1942  City  William H. Rhoades  1969-1971  Chief  Kenneth J. Weaver  2014-present  Chief

Today we are staffed with a Chief of Police, five officers, a K9 and two reserve officers to provide quality law enforcement services to the community.


Kenneth J. Weaver Chief of Police R1 rpdchief@cityofronan.org
Corey White Patrol Sergeant R2 rpd2@cityofronan.org
Samantha Klein Patrol Officer R3 rpd3@cityofronan.org
Brandon Smith and Sandor K9 Officer R4 rpd4@cityofronan.org
Tyler Hadrits Patrol Officer R5 rpd5@cityofronan.org
Christopher Moldenhauer Patrol Officer R6 rpd6@cityofronan.org
Braden Barber Reserve Officer R7 rpd7reserve@cityofronan.org
Devin Wegener Reserve Officer R8 rpd8reserve@cityofronan.org
Robert Stentz Reserve Officer R9  rpd9reserve@cityofronan.org
Sam Trotter Reserve Officer R10  rpd10reserve@cityofronan.org
Rick Schneider Chaplain R14

The Police Departments Structure

The Administrative Division is responsible for strategic planning, policy and procedures, recruitment and hiring, property and evidence, staffing, grant management, fleet and facilities management, records, purchasing and budget, department technology and the training of all officers.

Awarded Grants

  • Selective Traffic Enforcement Program
    • STEP Mini Grant in 2015
    • STEP Grant in Fiscal Year 2015 – 2016
    • STEP Grant in Fiscal Year 2016 – 2017
    • STEP Mini Grant in 2018
    • STEP Mini Grant in 2019
    • STEP Mini Grant in 2020
    • STEP Mini Grant in 2021
  • Community Oriented Policing Services
    • COPS Hiring Grant 2016

The Patrol Division is responsible to maintaining public order, provide preventive patrol, respond to calls for service and conduct investigations of person and property crimes.  Patrol is also responsible in the support of safe driving throughout Ronan by enforcing traffic laws and investigating motor vehicle crashes, traffic direction and control, traffic safety, and parking enforcement.

The Investigation Division is responsible for properly evaluating reported felony crimes within the City of Ronan.  The chief of police will determine the presence of sufficient information to warrant further investigation.  Crimes will be investigated with professionalism and tenacity, giving due consideration to the rights of victims and suspects alike.  Victims will be provided information concerning the status of their cases as time permits.